What I Learned in 2016

New year, new me? Screw that false hope that we give ourselves that we are somehow going to change just because it’s the new year. Resolutions? Screw those false promises that we put in our lists just to disappoint ourselves for not following suit.

As someone who has never believed in resolutions, and the “new year, new me” cliché, I use the end of the year by not giving myself huge expectations of what’s coming in the new year, but by reflecting on all the positive and negative experiences that I have been through within the year.

As you age and get into the deeper part of life, you would think that you are just going to apply the things you learned in the past to deal with the new challenges that life has for you. That idea would sometimes blind you from the new life lessons that you could learn in order to improve. This year taught me a lot, and I believe it made me more aware of my own responsibilities as an individual who is blessed with life.

Sharing My Opinion

In a world where opinions may be shared in an instant, and sometimes in anonymity, it’s difficult to not take offense. With that, along with a deep understanding of the mental capability, a wide variety of point of views, and the difference between opinions based on the level of education, I learned how to move on from the things that offend me. Sometimes, I think getting offended for me is rare now. It’s not that I don’t give a dookie about what others have to say, I am just saving myself from stress.

With the thought of instant sharing of opinion, I also had to learn how to be careful with my own words. I realized that it takes a bigger person to talk nice and praise someone. Yes, talking shit about people, especially behind their backs, is something that I’m really trying to avoid now. Although I am expert at it, it’s definitely something that I shouldn’t be proud of.

In addition to that, I also learned how to respect other people’s opinions. Just because I don’t agree with them, it doesn’t mean I have to be disrespectful. If they’re disrespectful towards my own opinion, of course, I would still stand firm with what I believe, and make a point, but I will do my best to not stoop down to that level of disrespecting opinions.

Single and Happy?

Being single for the entire year made me focus more on myself, and I talked about these things on one of my favorite blog entries, The Perks of Being Single. This, however, prevented me from making new friends, and genuine connection with people because I felt like everybody had an agenda behind their friendly smiles.

It was too late for me to realize that it was my mistake, but it definitely made me open up now. As someone whose heart has been broken too many times, I should not be afraid to have some sort of commitment with people.

Am I single and happy? Definitely. I must say that I have never been so content with being single.

Hopes and Expectations

Over the previous years, I learned how to not expect anything from anyone to not be disappointed. This year, taught me that it’s okay to expect something, whether it’s the best or the worst. It also taught me that you should use disappointment to fuel your life, not stress or depression. The feeling’s all in the mind sometimes, and having a strong mind is going to help you cope up with all the disappointment that you’re going to face in the future.

I also realized that jumping on opportunities will always make you gain something. In the past, I had an idea implanted in my mind where if I jump on one opportunity, then I would lose the chance to jump on a bigger one. The thing about opportunities is they should never be measured, and as I have just mentioned above, it’s all in the mind sometimes.

The year 2016 also made me lose my grip on reality a little, but it took that loss of grip to make me realize that there are a lot of things that I should be hopeful about. God, yes, GOD (NO RELIGIOUS STRINGS ATTACHED) has blessed me with enough hope to truly believe in the Law of Attraction. I’ll use it once more, it’s all in the mind sometimes. The power of the mind will translate whatever we put it into and whatever is in our thoughts will materialize into reality. Some business-minded people will disagree with this but it’s not always about hard work, anything you want will be achieved with positive thinking, high hopes, passion, and faith.

Highlight of the Year

If I have to pick one highlight for the year 2016, it’s starting up this blog. Opening myself up to strangers, my readers, the MVPs of this blog is certainly the best thing that happened this year. To be able to share my opinion, experiences, and advice to those who ask for it is truly an amazing feeling.

The way I see it, a year is just a chapter of your life. Your story will not be where it is now without the previous chapters so it is truly necessary to keep some of the positive things you learned in order to find that change. Remember, you don’t have to be a new person to change.


Every Wednesday, I’ll be posting essays about life. Got any questions? Click here.

Header Image: Retrieved from Odyssey (theodysseyonline.com)

Leave a Reply

