Coming-of-Age Christmas Lessons

Growing up, Christmas has always been about the traditions, the presents, the food, the togetherness, and the festive spirit. Other than those things, Christmas seems to be a really good teacher when it comes to the more important aspects of how it should be celebrated.

As I become more mature, the way I view things is also changing, but the lessons I learn from Christmas have always stuck with me.  The holidays have this sense of peace and purity that it could help anybody reflect on how they have been living their lives.

Here are some of the things that Christmas made me realize over the years…

Childhood

Being a small creature back then, I saw things in a bigger, more colorful, happier way. Back then, I was already taught to not expect anything, so receiving a Christmas present was already a big deal for me.

Opening presents, no matter what was inside, brought me so much joy. I already knew how to appreciate the thought that someone remembered to wrap a present for me, and although that may sound cheesy, it’s true. It may be cliché, but when it comes to gifts, it’s always the thought that counts.

Christmas also taught me how to make peace with anyone I’ve had a fight with. As a child, it’s easier to get over fights, so that is already a given but I honestly don’t know why it’s difficult for adults to do such thing. To have that peace in your mind and heart is one of the most beautiful things that you could give yourself not just during the holidays, but all throughout the year.

There are a lot of reasons as to why they say Christmas could make you feel like a child again, and I think that’s because Christmas heightens our joyful spirits, something that most of us lose on other times of the year because of the lemons of life.

Adolescence

Possessing angst, and disgust for almost everything that exists, being a teenager would sometimes make you forget about the things that really matter. There is a point in my life where I lost touch with myself because of the things that I went through, but those things strengthened my grasp for the things that matter even more.

I hated everything because of the fact I never had a memory of celebrating Christmas with my mom. Pictures of us celebrating it together, and me not having a memory of those moments made me even angrier. My family was never complete, and the spirit of Christmas for me faded a little.

Sometimes, I would spend thirty minutes of Christmas eve in the bathroom silently crying because I couldn’t do anything to celebrate it with a complete family, but as I have moved on from that, I realized that Christmas isn’t just about me, nor about celebrating it being “complete.” There are definitely other people who are having it worse than I am, and I should be more appreciative of the fact that I get to celebrate it at all.

If I have to put it simply, Christmas taught me that it’s not all about “me” for Christmas, because it’s all about “we.”

Young Adulthood

It’s already a given: Christmas is about giving, the birth of Jesus Christ, getting together with family and friends, and having the festive mood to celebrate it. There is possibly nothing more to learn as a young adult from Christmas because you have learned almost everything throughout the years. Well, not really. I believe that there is always something new to learn every day.

One of the things I learned from Christmas as a young adult Filipino is it doesn’t matter where you stand in the social hierarchy or what your socioeconomic status is, if you believe in Christmas, you will celebrate it for sure.

It’s not just about the Christmas films, the things that your teachers say, or the sermon of the priest during a night mass, you must live through it to learn and realize things. Happy Holidays everybody!

What is the most important lesson that you learned from Christmas? Sound in the comments below!


Every Wednesday, I’ll be posting essays about life. Got any questions? Click here.

Leave a Reply

