My Writing Inspiration

At a young age, I was already very imaginative. Drawing have always been my first love, and for a while, I remember people looking at me saying that I will be a graphic designer, a fashion designer, or an architect someday.

As I learned how to construct sentences with words that I just learned, I started using my imagination in a very different way because with that knowledge, I would combine drawing with writing draw. The pictures I draw weren’t just pictures anymore as I started to have a more comfortable grasp at putting those pictures into words to create a narrative that would satisfy my hunger to tell a story.

While I don’t remember the first time I came up with a story off the top of my head using a picture I drew, I am certain that it’s what started the fiery passion I possess for writing.

For me, one of the things that inspired me back then was, of course, the pictures that I drew. They say that a picture is worth a thousand words. Why not use those thousand words to really express your perception of the picture you created? There is nothing wrong with letting people have their own perception, but sometimes, if you want to tell a story, your story, the use of words will help them understand more; it will help them see the bigger picture.

I look at the world differently. The people I meet, the sounds I hear, the places I visit – anything can become a material of a story.

I was very introverted, too, back then, so the hand does the work more than the mouth when it comes to communicating. I guess life experiences made me that way, but it’s also what helped me have a sense of individuality and self-awareness when it comes expressing myself through writing.

With that introversion, books have also become my main companion, and soon, they also became one of my inspirations in writing. With limitless stories that really touched my heart, fed my mind, and motivated my soul, it made me want to be one of those people who would really come into other people’s life to give them an entirely new perspective. Being published became one of my goals in life.

That goal easily came into fruition when I became a student journalist at our University where I spent two years as a correspondent, and one year as an Associate Editor. I was living the dream, but I didn’t want to settle for that. After completing my Bachelor’s degree in Communication Arts, I set another goal which is to get a Master’s degree in Creative Writing.

I really don’t mind talking about failure, so I’ll put this out there – I FAILED.

At first, like all failures, it was difficult to deal with, but I realized that I can always try again, and while I’m waiting for the right time to achieve that goal, I should approach my writing with the sense of freedom like I always used to.

Moving on may have taken a while, but that sense of discontent from failure became my inspiration to never give up, and to be free from the pressure that I put myself into so I could become a successful writer.

Now, here I am, a writer who is sharing most of his knowledge through blogs and social media. While it makes me feel that most of us don’t get enough credit for the things we do, I use it more of an inspiration to keep writing about the things that I know matter to the world. To let my voice be heard in a world where freedom of expression is drowned with death threats, insults, and other idiotic remarks. Most importantly, to inspire others to do the same.

Write your own story because you’re the only one capable of telling the truth about it. Always remember that anything is possible with writing because the right words can make this world a better a place.


Every Wednesday, I’ll be posting essays about life. Got any questions? Click here.

Header Image: Retrieved from planplusonline.com

Leave a Reply

