My Personal Legend

One of the many reasons why I love to read books is the new perspective that it gives me as I read through the pages. In fact, I believe that the things I have read helped me create a path to the life I want to live, the person I want to be, and the legacy that I want to live.

When it comes to books about self-discovery, there are a lot of inspirational books to choose from. For me, one of the books that really taught me a lot about life is Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist.

The Alchemist follows the story of Santiago, a young Andalusian shepherd who is on a journey to Egypt where he believes a treasure is buried after having a recurring dream about it. On his journey, he encounters different people who played a vital role in making him realize his Personal Legend.

Melchizedek, an old king whom Santiago met on his journey is the one who introduced the idea of a Personal Legend, which is something that you “have always wanted to accomplish.” Additionally, “everyone, when they are young, knows what their Personal Legend is.”

I have always been content with the way I am living my life, and the things that I have achieved, but reading this part of the book made me brought me back to reality. There is still contentment, yes, but the fact that I am clueless about what my Personal Legend is and whether I have one made me want to strive for something bigger, like how Santiago never gave up in his pursuit of that treasure in his dreams.

The core theme of the book recurs all though the story. “When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”

It occurred to me that there is something that I need to pursue but I don’t know what it is yet. I don’t know what I want and it is probably because of the level of contentment that I have in my system. Unlike Santiago, I’m a lost shepherd who is still in search of his Personal Legend to live it. As I go on with life not knowing what that is, maybe a Personal Legend isn’t always specific.

The idea of a Personal Legend made me contemplate about all the things I have achieved, and it made me ask myself where my contentment is coming from. This contentment might be because of the experiences that I have been through that I may have already lived my Personal Legend without even knowing that it is what I have been doing.

I must stress out, however, that a Personal Legend is not measured by the amount of success you have reached in your life. Your Personal Legend should be bigger than life. It’s about going out there in the world to seize the day, and find the pinnacle of your mental, physical, emotional, and spiritual purpose.

This is the biggest mystery of my life, but it made me understand the difference between two of the driving forces of life: probabilities, and possibilities. Probabilities can be measured, while possibilities can never be. A life driven by possibilities is bigger than those driven by probabilities.

“It’s true that everything has its Personal Legend, but one day that Personal Legend will be realized. So each thing has to transform itself into something better, and to acquire a new Personal Legend, until, someday, the Soul of the World becomes one thing only.” – Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

Indeed, life does go on. The fact that I do not know what my Personal Legend makes me unafraid to face any obstacle that life has to offer, and it makes me strive to become a better person. I have learned that overcoming the fear of failure helps you find your Personal Legend, and that made me realize that there is an invisible treasure out there for me, and although I feel lost, I know that there I am creating a very significant path for my life’s direction.

What is your Personal Legend and how did you live it? Sound in the comments below!


Every Wednesday, I’ll be posting essays about life. Got any questions? Click here.

Header Image: Retrieved via My Storybook

Leave a Reply

