I Wish I was a Metaphor

I wish I was a dream in your good night’s sleep,
The one that gives a smile on your face,
And you tell yourself always remember,
That way, in your mind, I will forever live.

I wish I was a glass in your bedroom window,
The one that keeps your curiosity alive
With the dawn or dusk, and anything that passes by,
I want you to see the world through my eyes.

I wish I was a page in your favorite book,
The one, with each word, you have memorized,
Where you don’t have to read between the lines
To understand what you really mean to me.

I wish I was a lyric in your favorite song,
The one you never miss when you sing along,
That way our souls can find each other,
And waltz together to the rhythm and beat.

I wish I was a star in the wondrous galaxy,
The one you gaze upon in a hot summer night,
Because no matter how distant I may be
I shall still gleam, for you, in the stygian sky.

I wish I was a metaphor in your life,
The one you really love not just as a trope,
But all I can be is a man with a poem,
Admiring you from afar through his flowery words.


Every Friday, I’ll be posting short stories and poetry that will hit you right in the feels. Want to send a contribution? Click here.

Header Image: a2ua.com

Leave a Reply

