Sunset Chaser

A piece from a short novel I wrote in 2015.
~~~

Watching the sunset only intensified the emotions I have inside of me.
The giant fiery orb slowly melted away into the horizon
Until all that was left was darkness and the stars that decorated the vast stygian sky.
I couldn’t believe it when I felt a tear roll down my cheek. I am crying.
I wiped my tears with before as they blurred my vision.
Watching that sunset has given me a new perspective.
I should start looking for ways to move on from the past.
Like the sunset, I should let myself be swallowed by the darkness
In order to find a way to overcome it like the sunrise.
This is one of those epiphanies that will definitely stick around.


Every Friday, I’ll be posting short stories and poetry that will hit you right in the feels. Want to send a contribution? Click here.

Leave a Reply

