A Deadly Combination

Most people would say that I have an attitude problem, and I’m trying to think of the reasons why they would be thinking that. For starters, most people would say upon meeting me that I’m a little snobbish, and sometimes rude.

I think the tone of my voice is the biggest factor that plays upon this because I’m very monotonous. While it’s true that my mind travels to Snoozeville or Wanderland when I’m trapped in long conversations, I still do my best to pay attention. That can’t be the reason.

I realized then that I possess a deadly combination of sharp-tonguedness and thick-skinnedism. Yeah, I made those words up, but you get the point.

I take pride in having the ability to be sarcastically unkind and critically clever. I get the insensitivity of it sometimes, but it has been a part of my personality and it is something that I acquired as I adapted into the supposedly sad life of mine. I think that I use it not as a defense mechanism, but more of an offense mechanism when I feel it’s necessary.

In addition to a sharp weapon, you got to have a mighty, effective shield you defend yourself. I am very thick skinned, which means I am not easily insulted or offended. Although I’m a sensitive person, when my guard is up, there is no way that you can break me.

Having this deadly combination has its advantages and disadvantages, and that is what I learned as I went on in this world where crazy is the new normal, orange is the new black, bro is the new babe, and all those blank is the new blank kind of thing.

My sharp tongue has definitely made conversations fun and challenging for me. Some people can’t take a joke, and most of the time would get offended and take it personal, but at the same time, there are those who join in the creativity by outwitting each other when it comes to insults and sarcasm.

Being thick skinned, I managed to get through life without getting depressed or affected by what people have to say about me. Refer to my The Art of Not Giving a Fuck post so you’ll know how I learned how I managed to build this armor that defended me from the evils of this planet.

But then, you know what they say: He who has a sharp tongue soon cuts his own throat. I may not be affected by what people say to me, I am very much affected by how people respond to my sharp tongued statements. Questions like “Was that too personal?” or “Was I too much?” comes into mind.

There are people who are super sensitive, and are offended by everything, and I knew that I had to understand that although I think they’re making the world sadder than it already is.

Having a thick skin, most people would think that you’re numb. That thought doesn’t really affect me, but it hurts my chances of being taken seriously. Being labelled numb just because you don’t let things affect you, and you say ‘whatever’ to anything that they throw at you, it really builds up.

Being thick skinned, it’s also important to not let your guard down, because at this point, your only guard is actually your thick skin. Once you let your guard down, you’re really going to break, and it’s going to take a long time for you to recover.

What’s the lesson here? Having a sharp tongue and thick skin can make or break you and this will depend on the way you use those attributes in life.

I would like to end this post by using this popular quote:

“Be kind for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.”

I may be sharp tongued and thick skinned, but that doesn’t mean I’m heartless.


Every Wednesday, I’ll be posting essays about life. Got any questions? Click here.

Leave a Reply

