The Art of Not Giving a Fuck

In my journey to becoming a positive person, a lot of people tried to pull me down. They say bad things about me behind my back, and they judge me as if they fully know my story. I used to worry about these things when I was younger, but as I matured, I learned how to not let anybody sink my ship.

I did spend a good amount of time caring about what people think of me, and it affected me negatively. I used to always change the way I live my life whenever I hear someone judge me for being myself, and this made me really unhappy because I can’t live up with the absurd standards of the society.

There was a point in my life when I felt hopeless because I knew that I can’t achieve some of the things that the people around me want for myself. Even if I did, I also knew that they won’t see that achievement and will try to shape me into a completely different person, again. I think this is a disease that was so contagious that it started to occupy our human nature.

With that feeling weighing me down, I asked myself whether it was still worth it to care. That’s when I had an epiphany. Today, I’m going to talk about what caused that epiphany, and hopefully, it would give you an idea of how better it would to give zero fucks about the society’s pressures and judgment.

Endurance is key. I always think it’s wrong to say that we should get used to the judgmental eyes that follow our every move, but as I have mentioned above, this has become a part of human nature. If they can’t get used to you, it’s up to you to show your strength and adaptability by getting used to all the garbage that come out of their mouth. You should never change, and that is why you have to endure their judgment for not understanding the kind of life you want to live.

In fact, people are judging you right now, and they will continue to do so until they see you give in. It’s important to keep in mind that their opinion doesn’t matter. The things they say about you is not going to change anything, especially the fact that they can’t live their own lives. In the end, self-validation and validation from the important people in your life is all that counts.

People will never change. They will always look for something to criticize. They will always look for something to be offended by. They will always try to poison us with their subjective opinion. While you try to make your world a better place, they will intervene just for the sake of intervening. One thing’s for sure, giving zero fucks will definitely help you make your world and the world around you a better place, while they remain stagnant trying to look for ways to destroy it.

Everyone liking you is not a necessity. Life is not a popularity contest where the likable ones are the only individuals who could live a happy life. Self-appreciation is enough. If you build a positive opinion on yourself, that will make you realize the insignificance of others’ perception towards you, and that will definitely help you live a better life than others.

Stay awesome, and be yourself. This is common sense. Insecure people are afraid of confident people. They will surely say something, but that will only last for a while because if you show them that their opinion doesn’t affect you, they will stop criticizing you. Insecure people don’t like it if their effort to judge is not showing them any results, and this tires them, therefore, they are going to look for someone else to target. It’s an unfortunate unending cycle that they can’t escape.

It’s easy to achieve all these things if you have a mature and open mind. It also gets easier if we accept the fact that judgmental people have taken over the world, and they will only be diminished if we stop giving a fuck about what they have to say.


Every Wednesday, I’ll be posting essays about life. Got any questions? Click here.

 

Leave a Reply

