How I Really Feel About the “Be Careful Who You Bully” Challenge

The Internet is so powerful that almost anything can become a viral trend. Post something interesting online and it will explode in just a matter of minutes. From activities like planking, dances like dabbing, and challenges like the cinnamon challenge, people don’t fail to provide us with funny, and meaningful contributions.

With the number of people taking part of these trends to find their 15 minutes of fame, it almost feels like it’s something that you must do in order to not be considered outdated. While there are fun challenges that we have witnessed in this wonderful world of viral trends, there are also some that are so disagreeable that they deserve a blog post like this one.

Last year, my Facebook and Instagram feeds were plagued with the #DontJudgeChallenge, where people post videos of themselves with exaggerated drawn on features, like acne, and unibrows, which are often the targets of body shaming. The #DontJudgeChallenge began to become a viral trend after Em Ford, a beauty blogger, posted a video where she removed her face makeup to reveal the acne underneath, encouraging people to accept themselves rather than to be ashamed of their true selves. Yes, something that was intended for anti-body shaming turned into a hypocritical trend that promoted vanity.

This year, we are once again plagued with a similar trend called the “Be Careful Who You Bully” Challenge. The instruction of the challenge says: “Post at least two photos: one old and one recent. See how many people react to your transformation. Never let anyone put you down or make you lose your confidence.” Even the instruction of the challenge doesn’t connect with it’s supposed cause, which is to stop bullies.

I think most of the people who participated in the challenge don’t understand the message that they’re implying – that it’s okay to bully someone based on their looks. I feel like the logic they have right now is: People can’t bully me now because I’m good-looking.

If anybody can argue that this promotes anti-bullying behavior, then present me with your arguments and get ready for a debate. If anybody can actually give me a rational explanation as to how this kind of *expletive* stops bullies, I would be willing to listen no matter how long it takes; but I believe nobody has the capability to do that.

OH NO, THE ADRENALIST WRITER IS BULLYING OUR INTELLECT!

No, I’m not. And although others may think that I’m being close minded about this, I am not. I just can’t see anything that will come out of it that contributes to anti-bullying because all of the posts I see reflect the vanity that most of us have nowadays. Yes, I’ll admit it. I have a good amount of vanity in my body, and I’m not saying that I’m godlike for not flaunting it as much as others do, but come on, really? Showing off how good-looking you are or how much you have changed doesn’t help prevent bullying, it only intensifies it.

What’s the beef? Why am I reacting so badly about this? Because I am someone who has been bullied, and I know a lot of people who have been bullied not because of the way they look, but because of their misfortunes, the things that they can’t do, the things that they can’t afford, their sexuality, their religion, the job of their parents, their level of intellect, and a lot of other things.

I’m not saying that people are wrong and meant to cause harm for promoting vanity and posting stuff like this to boost their confidence, but it is something that could be done in a different way without integrating it with bullies and anti-bullying behavior.

Bullying is a serious issue, and it is something that needs to be talked about. It is something that should not be spewed from the toxic landfill of the people who think they can stop it with their good looks and vanity.

Regardless of how you look, you will be bullied, and this is not okay, and that is what people should know and try to fix. The “Be Careful Who You Bully” Challenge is not promising when it comes to showing those who are still being bullied that it gets better; it only gives them a reason to be insecure as they feel the pressures that this kind of challenge is giving them.

Bullying is something that most people endure every day, and for some, it doesn’t stop. But if people can make something like this “Be Careful Who You Bully” bull*expletive* trend, I hope that one day, we will also find a way to really promote a cause that is effective to a point that the bullied will not be threatened by the bullies anymore.

Bullies, unfortunately, will always be there. It’s not okay to say that we should get used to them, but that is the reality. Instead of being the vanity-mixed-with-15-minute-of-fame-seeking trend that it is now, “Be Careful Who You Bully” Challenge could have be an effective cause if It was about how far you’ve come since that dark part of your life, and not about how better looking you are now and how good you are at applying makeup. If anything, the trend should be called “Transformation Challenge.”

I want this post to mean something, that’s why I would like to encourage everyone to talk about how they overcame bullying instead of participating in an anti-bullying challenge that does not really prevent bullying.


I finally got that out of my chest. Call me old fashioned but this kind of trend is one of the reasons why I’m losing hope in the future of humanity. Got any stories you want to share about how you overcame bullying? Leave a comment below! Head on to the Comments, Questions, and Suggestions page by clicking here.

4 thoughts on “How I Really Feel About the “Be Careful Who You Bully” Challenge

Leave a Reply

